Posted by: Elder Kenny Call | March 3, 2011

California, here I come! Only five more days left in the MTC.

March 2nd, 2011

It’s week 2 and near the end of my journey here at the MTC. I just received my flight plans for Monday, March 7th for a flight to Santa Barbara departing around 10:30, however I have to be ready to leave the MTC at 6am… they just don’t like us to sleep here :). I won’t be arriving in California until later in the day because for some reason we have a layover out-of-the-way in Denver, CO, but I think I’ll live. I’m just way excited to get into the mission field.

The MTC has been a wonderful experience so far. I have learned so much in so little time. The classes are great because of my 2 awesome teachers. Every day I learn something that answers so many of my questions. I have to say though, I don’t think I have ever studied so much church material in my life.

One of my favorite things they have my do in the MTC is role-playing. I have spent good time in the TRC (training resource center), where volunteers come in acting as investigators in the church and we teach them the discussions. I have to say that this is one of the most effective ways of learning how to teach. In the TRC, they have cameras in the room where we teach the investigators and my teachers are able to go over how me and my companion, Elder Mortensen, did. I’ve spent many hours in the classroom but I believe it is role-playing is where I have learned the most. I feel more than ready now to be out in California teaching the gospel.

I can’t believe I only have 5 days left in the MTC! These weeks have gone by way to fast, but I am ready to get away from their food. It was great the first day, but now its just getting to be too much. I have gained nearly 10 pounds since I’ve been here! can you believe that? I have never gained weight so fast. Again, I can’t wait to get to California.

As far as specifics about the California Ventura Mission, I have not been told much. I have met several people here from that area though, but I hear different stories from everyone about what it’s like there so I don’t know what to think. The good thing is that I met a couple from Ventura today at the temple that already invited me to dinner. we’ll see if I ever see them again, but they were really cool. One thing I did hear though is that we are getting a new mission president. Currently it is President Murri, but the new guy coming is President Castro. I just hope the rules don’t change too much with the new mission president. My missionary companion told me that his friend serving in Ventura said elders currently are allowed to go into the ocean up to their knees. I didn’t think we would be allowed even near the beach! I’ll see if this is true, but my focus is on missionary work.

The First Counselor of the Presiding bishopric, brother Edgely, and his wife spoke to us yesterday in a devotional. I loved his talk! He had some great points but a few things stood out to me. He talked about the generation affect and how missionaries can leave their missions without knowing how truly effective they were. He also told a story about an elder who didn’t go tracting, but had higher numbers than anybody. Everyone thought he was “cheating” in how he was progressing so fast with bringing people to the church. As it turns out he was going to the members and the part member families and getting every single contact out of them. This is my plan of what I want to do while I’m on my mission. The reason this is so effective is that the people you contact already have a friend in the church that they can go to and ask questions. I just love this method.

I am so happy to be serving my mission and am very grateful for all the support including all the packages and letters I have been receiving. I would love to continue hearing from ya’ll!

Responses

  1. Hello Elder Call: It was great to hear from you this week it sounds as though you are enjoying you time at the MTC and also learning a lot. that is GREAT. Everyone will tell you different things about where you are going on your mission as everyoe has a different preception of what they thought it was for them. It sounds like to me that you have your feet firmly planted on the ground and know what your plans are on your mission.
    We are so proud of you and know that you will be a wonderful missionar. You have had good training from your parents and that will last you a life time and will carry you into your own marriage. You are a very fortunate young man.
    Will you get your mail at your address in Ventura or wil it go to the mission home ? Where is your companion from? Will you have him as a companion when you go to Ventura?
    Take care we send you our love, we have been having snow in WA burr still is coming. Love You Ed & Jan


Leave a Reply

Categories

