Posted by: Elder Kenny Call | August 16, 2011

Scariest Moment of my life! I witnessed a miracle!

So tomorrow, I will have been out on my mission for six months. I can’t even believe it’s been that long! Of this six months that I have been out on my mission this last week has been the craziest!
On Monday we had an awesome Zone Conference. I learned a lot of cool things from it. Because of Zone Conference on Monday, we had our preparation day on Tuesday. We got to have a Zone activity that day. For the activity we went on a one mile hike to an area with a waterfall. When we got to the top we had a devotional sharing some of our favorite scriptures. We had fun and it all went really well… until the accident.  It was the scariest moment of my life. Missionaries were just taking pictures at the top. Then my companion decided to take a picture on the edge of the cliff. He got the picture, but right after he slipped and fell backwards down approx. 35 feet. I still can picture my companion falling. It was just terrifying. I thought he was dead. We all did for a moment. We were all praying for him and he received a blessing right away. A helicopter came and picked him up while I stayed with the Zone Leaders.
I witnessed a miracle. Three people had died their recently from the same fall, but Elder Bashein suffered only minor injuries. He got some stiches on his head and arm, and broke a finger. All the missionaries there could not have handled the situation any better. I am so gratful that he is okay and healing up fast. I continue to thank Heavenly Father.
Elder Bashein should be ready to get back to work soon! While he is resting and healing up, I’ve had the pleasure to serve with a Ward Missionary who is preparing to go on his mission. He’s going to be a wonderful missionary whenever or wherever he is called to serve. We had some very neat experiences as we went through visiting less active and part member families. We found some great new people to teach. One of them a less active member, and another a part-member family. The whole family came to the door when we were there and we talked to them for quite a while. They were very friendly and we will be going back there soon!
This Sunday Elder Bashein and I got to speak in the Camarillo 6th ward. Both our talks went really good. I went first and Elder Bashein did a great job with covering over the time that I was short. 🙂
We found out some sad news that two people in our one of our wards died this week. We just got back from a funeral of one of them. The service was very nice and the spirit there was really strong. The stake center was so full of people, mostly non-members. Maybe after that spiritual meeting some of them may want to learn more about their friend’s faith.
Anyway, there is a bunch of other things that happened this week that I would love to talk about but I’m out of time.
Love,
Elder Call
Leave a Reply

Categories

