Posted by: Elder Kenny Call | September 26, 2011

Transfers next week/Progress with former member of the Church.

 

Transfer time is coming up and I have mixed feelings about going or staying. I’ll be happy with whatever the mission president wants me to do. I love this area, the people are great, the weather is beautiful as well as the scenery, and the work is great. Working in two wards though has been stressful trying to balance how much time we spend in both areas, dealing with conflicting Sunday meetings in separate buildings, and remembering everything we have to follow up. Either way, I know that the Mission President will put me where I need to be.

 

On Sunday we met with one of our 6th ward investigators, who chose to be excommunicated 30 years ago, and she has shown so much progression in this last visit. When I first met her, she had called us to come visit because she hadn’t seen missionaries for a few months and she liked the spirit they brought into her home. She wasn’t as much interested in our message, but had her own ideas with religious beliefs. She deeply studied these books contrary to what we and the bible teach. I didn’t think much would happen from our visits. We stopped by occasionally answering her questions and every visit she opened up more and more. The visit with her we had yesterday was great. We taught about the Plan of Salvation, and about what Jesus Christ has done for us. We could tell her testimony was coming back and that she was feeling the Spirit. She realized that the things we were teaching make sense. Now she’s doubting these other books that have twisted her thoughts and led her so far away from Gospel truths. She has been reading now from the Book of Mormon and has picked up an incredible interest in it. There are a lot of miracles happening here that I don’t know how to explain.

 

I am so grateful for the Gospel in my life. I’m not afraid to say that I know the things that I teach are true because God has answered my prayers and let me know of the truth though the power of the Holy Ghost. I know that God lives, and that He loves each and every one of us, and that He wants the best for us. I know that Jesus Christ is our Savior and I am so deeply grateful for his atoning sacrifice. I’m so grateful that God has called a prophet in these latter-days to lead and guide us. I know that Joseph Smith did see God the Father and his son Jesus Christ and that through Joseph Smith the Gospel of Jesus Christ was again restored to the Earth. I know that Thomas S. Monson is our true and living prophet on the earth today. I look forward to being able to listen to him and the apostles in General Conference this week. The four sessions of General Conference will be on television on Saturday and Sunday, October 3rd and 4th from 11:00 -1:00 and 3:00 -5:00 (Central Time).  If you have Direct TV or Satellite, you will find it on the BYU-TV Channel.  If you have Cable, check with your local cable provider or browse through the channels until you find it.  It will be worth it!

 

 

 

I hope ya’ll have a great week!
Love,
Elder Call


Leave a Reply

Categories

